ISEE is governed by an elected Executive Council composed of three officers and six councilors.

The officers include the President, who serves as Chair of the Executive Council, and the Secretary-Treasurer, each serving for two years, and a President-elect or an immediate Past President, serving for one year in alternate years.

The membership also elects two new Councilors each year to the six-member Council, each serving for three years. To maintain a Council that broadly represents the geographic distribution of the ISEE membership, three councilors reside outside North America and three reside in North America.