John Goldsmith Award for Outstanding Contributions to Environmental Epidemiology

This award was created to honor the legacy of Dr John Goldsmith, one of the organizers, early leaders, and constant supporter of the International Society for Environmental Epidemiology. This award is given to investigators for "sustained and outstanding contributions to the knowledge and practice of environmental epidemiology." Recipients have typically contributed in substantive and innovative fashion to the methods and practice of epidemiology over many years.  

The recipient will be invited to present the John Goldsmith Memorial lecture at the annual conference with registration, airfare, and hotel costs paid by ISEE.

How to Apply to the John Goldsmith Award  

Any member of the ISEE (except members of the Awards Committee) may make nominations.

A single nomination document in PDF should be prepared containing the following:
  1. A cover letter from the primary nominator up to two pages in length, that describes the major contributions of the nominee to the science of environmental epidemiology and her/his impact on the field and on public health policy.
  2. A brief curriculum vitae or biographical sketch of the nominee (up to three pages).
  3. Letters, up to two pages in length, supporting the nomination, from up to five others familiar with the contributions of the nominee. These support letters should describe in specific terms how the nominee meets the award criteria.
  4. A portrait photo (photo of only the award receipient will be published with their bio in the journal and on the ISEE website).
  5. Send nominations to: and include in the Subject line: "Goldsmith Award Nomination."

The deadline for submitting 2021 award nominations is March 26, 2021.

2020 Award Winner

Manolis Kogevinas, MD, PhD

Read More

  Past Award Winners
 2019  Annette Peters
 2018  Mark J. Nieuwenhuijsen
 2017   Aaron Cohen 
 2016   Phillipe Grandjean 
 view lecture
 2015   Howard Hu 
 2014   Jordi Sunyer Deu
 2013  Michal Krzyzanowski
 2012  Brenda Eskenazi
 2011    Irva Hertz-Picciotto       
 2010  Frank Speizer
 2009  Allan Smith
 2008  Joel Schwartz
 2007  Bert Brunekreef
 2006  Klea Katsouyanni
 2005  Jonathan M. Samet 
 2004  Olav Axelson (posthumous)  and Aaron Blair 
 2003  Benedetto Terracini
 2002  Raymond Neutra
 2001  Wieslaw P. Jedrychowski
 2000  Anthony McMichael 
 1999  Douglas Dockery 

2017 Goldsmith
(Adobe PDF File)

globe and hands icon

Make a Difference!

Help build capacity for environmental epidemiology around the world by supporting the society's many efforts.

Donate Today! »