ISEE is governed by an elected Executive Council composed of three officers and six councilors. The President, who serves as Chair of the Executive Council, and the Secretary-Treasurer serve for two years. To provide continuity, a President-elect or an immediate Past President, serves for one year. Two new Councilors are elected each year. Each councilor serves for three years. To maintain a Council that broadly represents the geographic distribution of the ISEE membership, three councilors reside outside North America and three reside in North America. 

A list of past elected officials can be found here (pdf).


Andrea Baccarelli, MD, PhD 

Columbia University 
New York, New York, USA

Mark Nieuwenhuijsen, PhD 

Institute for Global Health (ISGlobal)
Barcelona, Spain

Michelle Turner, PhD 

Institute for Global Health (ISGlobal)
Barcelona, Spain


Mildred Maisonet, PhD 
East Tennessee State University
Tennessee, USA

Nelson Gouveia, MD, MSc, PhD 

University of Sao Paulo Medical School
Sao Paulo, Brazil

Adetoun Mustapha, PhD, DIC, MPH 

Nigerian Institute of Medical Research
Nigeria, Africa

Yue-Liang Guo, MD, MPH, PhD 

National Taiwan University

Zorana Jovanovic Andersen, PhD 

University of Copenhagen
Frederiksberg, Denmark

Jaime E. Hart, ScD 

Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts, USA

Students & New Researchers Steering Committee

The Students and New Researchers Network (SNRN) elects members, representing different geographical regions, to promote and advocate for the interests of students and new researchers within the Society. Each SNRN steering committee member is assigned specific duties.

Mary Willis, PhD
Oregon State University

Kate Burrows, PhD candidate
Yale University School of Environment

Musa A. Kana, MD, PhD
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, Epidemiology Branch

Max Aung, PhD, MPH 
University of California, San Francisco

Temitope Adebayo, MSc, PhD Candidate 
University of Basel and Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute

Amira Aker, MPH, PhD
Université Laval

Agatha Henry-Ajala, MSc 
University of Lagos

Yanelli Nunez, PhD, MA, MPhil 
Columbia University

Aina Roca-Barcel, MPH, PhD Candidate 
Imperial College London

Andy Tsung-Lin Tsai, PhD 
National Health Research Institutes